Chaos & Order exhibition opening

6 March 2018


Join us at the opening night of Chaos & Order : 120 years of collecting at RMIT.

Thursday 12 April 6-8 pm 2018 at RMIT Gallery

To be opened by

Mr Terry Wu

Arts patron & collector

Thursday 12 April 6-8 pm 2018 at RMIT Gallery


Register here


Chaos & Order (13 April – 9 June 2018) celebrates over 80 Australian and international artists in an ambitious survey of the RMIT Art Collection.

The exhibition embraces the contradictions inherent in public art collections and exploring the uses to which they are put. How does one reconcile the academic style of Rupert Bunny with the minimalism of Robert Hunter, or the hyperrealism of Sam Jinks, without retreating to historical narrative?

Besides being a showcase for the work of alumni and staff, who rank among the most highly-regarded artists the country has produced, the intended purpose of the RMIT art collection is to tell the story of the university, its ideals and aspirations.

Chaos & Order suggests visual, poetic, thematic, and emotional relationships between works created over the past 100 years, and dispenses with the restrictive dictates of historical, technical or stylistic categories.

This exhibition is a collaboration between RMIT Gallery and the RMIT School of Art MA Arts Management program.

Curator: Jon Buckingham

Curatorial assistants [RMIT MA Arts Management]: Ellie Collins, Adelaide Gandrille, Marybel Schwartz, Valerie Sim, Sophie Weston


Artists including Tate Adams, Howard Arkley, Khadim Ali, Peter Booth, Polly Borland, Godwin Bradbeer, Rupert Bunny, Penny Byrne, Maria Fernanda Cardoso, Peter Clarke, Michael Cook, Len Crawford, Daniel Crooks, Craig Easton, Peter Ellis, Neil Emmerson, Juan Ford, Hayden Fowler, Len French, Sally Gabori, Bill Henson, Petr Herel, Clare Humphries, Robert Hunter, Robert Jacks, Sam Jinks, George Johnson, Roger Kemp, Inge King, Grahame King, Juz Kitson, Grace Lillian Lee, Helen Maudsley, Nick Mourtzakis, Trevor Nickolls, Jill Orr, Polixeni Papapetrou, Susan Philipsz, Anthony Pryor, Reko Rennie, Yhonnie Scarce, Greg Semu, Jan Senbergs, Christian Thompson, Kawita Vatanajyankur, Ah Xian.

Image: Kawita Vatanajynkur, (detail) The Scale of Justice (2015). Image courtesy of the artist. Acquisition, RMIT Art Collection.