Oceans: new and classic electro-acoustic compositions

Caption: Portal (RMIT) merged with Seascape, by Finnegan Comte-Harvey, 2017

Join us at RMIT for two nights of new works and classics of the electro-acoustic repertoire inspired by the sounds of oceans.

The free events will be held at RMIT Storey Hall Auditorium, City campus, Level 5, 336-348 Swanston Street, Melbourne.

Presented by RMIT Gallery in partnership with SIAL (Spatial Information Architecture Laboratory) Sound Studios, the concerts feature works by established and emerging composers from Australia, Canada, Italy, France, NZ, UK and Norway, including the world premiere of Ocean Deep by Canadian composer Barry Truax, who specializes in real-time implementations of granular synthesis, often of sampled sounds, and soundscapes.

Curation and sound diffusion: Lawrence Harvey.

Tuesday 2 May 6-8 pm – BOOK NOW

Buoy (2011) David Berezan (Canada/UK)

La vie en bleu (2013-2014) Anna Raimondo (Italy)

And then the sea came back (2016) Anja Kanngieser / Polly Stanton (Australia).

Island (2000) Barry Truax (Canada)

Prospero’s Voyage (2004) Barry Truax (Canada)

Spring Bloom in the Marginal Ice Zone (2017) Jana Winderen (Norway)

Wednesday 3 May 6-8 pm – BOOK NOW

Tides: Sea Flight (1984) Denis Smalley (NZ/UK)

frostbYte: cHaTter (2012) Daniel Blinkhorn (Australia)

Billy sees inside the sea (2016) Jane Ullman (Australia)

HydroSonics (2016) Leah Barclay (Australia)

Poranui (2011-12) Reuben Derrick (NZ)

Ocean Deep. World Premiere of new version (2017) Barry Truax (Canada)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s